Northwest Species at Risk

About the NWSAR Committee

Alberta Northwest Species at Risk Committee (NWSAR) was formed in response to the Government of Alberta’s 2016 Action Plan to recover Boreal Caribou across the Province. Of note, the Action Plan included the permanent protection of 1.8 million hectares of land in Northwest Alberta – which encompassed land within the geographic boundaries of NWSAR’s five municipal members. This permanent protection of land commitment was made by the Provincial Government without consultation with local governments and communities, and without understanding the potential socio-economic impacts to the Northwest region.  

Since the formation of the NWSAR Committee, the committee members and administration have worked tirelessly to ensure local voices and perspectives are included in higher-level government-led decision-making regarding species at risk recovery planning and policy, and that governments are utilizing the best quality and current socio-economic and environmental datasets, when planning for long-term multi-species management and/or recovery.

The NWSAR member municipalities are

Mackenzie County, County of Northern Lights, Clear Hills County, Town of High Level,  and the Town of Rainbow Lake

For More Information... 

Please visit the Northwest Species at Risk committee website where you can find the NWSAR full report which outlines the committees recommendations for Boreal Woodland Caribou Population Recovery in Northwest Alberta. 

Website: Northwest Species at Risk 

Council members on Committee: Mayor Crystal McAteer and Deputy Mayor Langford

Meetings occur as needed.